Maine Hockey Journal

Sirman leads Kingston to the Dudley Hewitt final

Maine recruit, Shawn Sirman, was named the second star on Thursday night in the 3-0 victory over the Soo Thunderbirds. The win and the Schreiber Diesels victory over the Fort Williams North Stars put the Kingston Voyageurs in the Dudley Hewitt final on Saturday night.

Sirman has been spectacular in the Dudley Hewitt tournament. In the three games he has appeared in he’s 2-1 with two shutouts. In the only loss on Wednesday was the score was 1-0 to the North Stars.

He leads all goaltenders with a .33 goals-against-average and a .990 save percentage.

Pryor unable to attend Maine?

According to Sixty Minutes. No Alibis. No Regrets. (a Wisconsin Badgers Hockey Blog), Maine recruit Nick Pryor hasn’t been able to pass through admissions.

Pryor committed to Maine after he couldn’t get into Wisconsin after giving a verbal commitment to at the age of 15.

He spent the year splitting time with the Des Moines Buccaneers and the Waterloo Black Hawks of the USHL. He had 7 goals and 17 assists in 43 games.

Maine has no defensive recruits coming in next year. They also lost Pat McEachen to Clarkson. Maine has seven returning defensemen on the current roster.

Arnold pushed back another year?

According to Chris Heisenberg, Maine recruit, Derek Arnold, has been pushed back until the 2010-2011 season. The Waterloo Black Hawk had 20 goals and 12 assists in 50 games.

He appears to be the second player pushed back along Mark Anthoine.

The 2009 recruiting class looks like this: Klas Leidermark (Brynas), Shawn Sirman (Kingston), Robin Bergman (Cedar Rapids), Matt Mangene (NH Jr. Monarchs), Adam Shemansky (NH Jr. Monarchs), Kelen Corkum (NH Jr. Monarchs). Johnnie Searfoss (Fargo), and Joey Diamond (Hamilton).

The 2010 recruiting class: Kyle Beattie (NH Jr. Monarchs), Stuart Higgins, Carlos Amestoy (Toronto), Mark Anthoine (Chicago), and Derek Arnold (Waterloo).

The 2011 recruiting class: Darcy Ashley (Cornwall), Brandon Francisco (York Simcoe), Matt McNeely (NTDP), and Stephen Gillard (St. John’s)

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply