Maine Hockey Journal

Paradis wins the Travis Roy Award

Lewiston, ME– Richard Paradis of St. Dom’s was named the Travis Roy Award winner, as the state’s best senior player in Class A at a banquet Sunday, at the Ramada Inn in Lewiston.

Paradis who switched to defense for this season had 21 goals and 31 assists which led all Tier I scorers.

He was one of the four finalists for the award which honors former Boston University player, Travis Roy, who had his career end eleven seconds into his first shift.

Mike Chase who led the Falmouth Yachtsmen to the Class A West regional finals was also a finalist. He had 21 goals and 24 assists.

The two East finalists were Shawn Lee of Waterville who defeated Richard Paradis in the Class A Final the week before and Brewer’s Dylan Fitzpatrick.

Lee, a defenseman, lit the lamp 14 times and added 17 assists for the Panthers.

Fitzpatrick was the Class A East leading scorer as he potted 27 goals and 24 assists for the Witches.

Paradis becomes the third player from St. Dom’s to win the award. Brian Toussaint won in 1996 and Joey Dumais, who played his college hockey at Quinnipiac and and the current assistant men’s hockey coach for Connecticut, won the award in 2001.

Brent Andrews (2000), former Maine standout, Derek Damon 1999 and current University of Southern Maine forward Jon Rutt (2005) were all finalists for St. Dom’s.

The Bob Boucher Coach of the Year awards, which honors the late St. Dom’s coach, were given to South Portland’s Joe Robinson (Tier 3), Thornton’s Shawn Rousseau (West) and Waterville’s Dennis Martin (East).

The Tier III Player of the Year honor was awarded to Gorham’s David Gushee who had 42 goals and 19 assists to lead all of Class A in scoring.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply