Maine Hockey Journal

Ebright named the newest member of the Pirates Hall of Fame

Portland, ME — The Portland Pirates announced today that former team owner, the late Tom Ebright will be the newest inductee into the Portland Pirates Hall of Fame presented by Unum.

Other Pirates alumni, forward Mike Boback, forward Chris Jensen, forward Darren McAusland were also eligible for induction in 2009. Ebright was selected by the fans as part of an online vote to determine the next member of The Portland Pirates Hall of Fame presented by Unum. Represented by his family, Ebright will be honored in an on-ice ceremony on Friday, March 27th during the 7:00 p.m. game against the Lowell Devils.

The late Tom Ebright was the owner of the Baltimore Skipjacks and brought hockey back to Portland in 1993 as the owner of the Portland Pirates. The 1993-94 season was the inaugural season for the Pirates which was culminated by the team’s only Calder Cup Championship. In addition to Ebright’s friendly nature, his passion as a fan made him a very popular owner to the Portland fans. In addition to his passion for hockey, Ebright also laid the groundwork for the Pirates presence in the community that remains a brand attribute today. In the summer of 1997, waiting for a heart transplant in Hershey, Pennsylvania, he passed away on July 11th.

Tom Ebright, a longtime member of the AHL Board of Governors, had a distinct impact on the American Hockey League. The AHL created the Thomas Ebright Memorial Award in his honor. The award is presented annually for outstanding career contributions to the American Hockey League. The Portland Pirates have also honored the former owner by establishing the Tom Ebright Award, given to the player who best exemplifies what it means to be a Portland Pirate.

The Portland Pirates Hall of Fame, presented by Unum, was founded in 1999 as a way to honor those players and coaches and other individuals who had played a significant role in Pirates’ history.

Andrew Brunette, Byron Dafoe and Olaf Kolzig were the charter members of the Hall of Fame in 1999. In 2000, Kevin Kaminski, one of the all-time fan favorites, was the fourth inductee. Original Pirate Steve Poapst was inducted in 2001, and long-time captain Kent Hulst was inducted in 2002. Goaltender Martin Brochu was inducted during the summer of 2003…the third netminder to be so honored. In 2004, Ryan Mulhern became the eighth member voted into the Pirates Hall of Fame and in 2005 current head coach of the Nashville Predators, Barry Trotz, became the ninth member of the Pirates Hall of Fame. Over the last two seasons, forward Todd Nelson and goalie Jim Carey joined the elite list of Hall of Fame members.

In order for a player, coach or individual to be eligible, he must have taken part in at least 40 Pirates’ games and, at the time of his induction, been at least one year removed from the club and be retired from playing the game of hockey (eligibility criteria revised July 1, 2004).

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply